Articles & Databases : News & Newspapers: Current News
Factiva News Pages
International business and news coverage from more than 8,000 sources including newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, and websites.
FT.com provides UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, comment and analysis from the Financial Times newspaper group. Note: For access to the Financial Times’ personalized features, please register here using your Mason email address.
Provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. Features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format, including more than 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Provides access to a wide range of news (includes New York Times, Washington Post, LA Times), business (company news, industry forecasts), government (legislative news, tax information), legal (news, case law) and reference information. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
Unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps, including Spanish and Chinese editions, which cover a variety of topics through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Includes archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access to the archives is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers). Note: First time users must create a new account here using their Mason credentials to gain access. Faculty and Staff must reactivate their accounts here every year. Upon login setup, download any NYT app from the App Store and use same login credentials for unlimited access. Login to NYTimes.com directly from any location.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Current)
The newspaper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide as well as national and international news. The ProQuest database version provides comprehensive indexing, covering bibliographic information as well as subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas.
American City Business Journals
Provides coverage of local business news and information from major metropolitan cities across the country, including access to the Washington Business Journal and the Book of Lists. Note: This resource is best accessed via Firefox or Google Chrome.
[American City Business Journals]
Chronicle of Higher Education - Web Edition
Coverage: 1989 - present
The Chronicle of Higher Education -Web Edition is the online edition of the Chronicle, the leading source of news and information on Higher Education. The web edition includes exclusive multimedia features, such as videos and podcasts, on current topics in higher education. Additionally, the current annual Almanac of Higher Education is accessible for demographic information in higher education. Other features include interactive tools for career development, and job searching.
[Chronicle of Higher Education]
Resource offers insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. It offers a variety of web-only content, including blogs, debates and audio/film programs. Provides full access to the print edition and a searchable online archive that dates back to 1997. Note: For access to The Economist newsletters, please register here using your Mason email address.
[Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)]
International business and news coverage from more than 8,000 sources including newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, and websites. Company information and data. Up to 5 years of historical market data. Photographs and pictures from Reuters and Knight Ridder.
This is an international source for global news, providing an evolving network of world-leading insights and analysis coupled with rapidly expanding original reporting. FP.com provides analyses of pressing global challenges in real time.
[Foreign Policy Group]
Comprehensive resource on politics and policy for the academic community.
Note: To receive alerts, Daybook events or newsletters, set up a personal account using your GMU email address.
Most of these electronic resources are governed by license agreements which limit use to the George Mason University Community of students, faculty, staff, and on-site users of George Mason University Libraries facilities. Each user has the responsibility of using these resources only for individual, educational and non-commercial purposes. The systematic downloading, distribution, or permanent retention of significant portions of these databases may be a violation of said licenses or copyright law. Particular resources may have additional requirements for access or restrictions on use. Please consult with a University Libraries Collection Development Officer for details about terms and conditions.